Jordan Spieth, Patrick Reed to do battle as Match Play groups released

SpiethReed - Cropped
Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed (Getty Pictures)

Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed have been drawn in the identical group for the WGC-Dell Applied sciences Match Play, whereas Dustin Johnson was handed a greater passage.

Spieth and Reed mixed 4 occasions for the USA throughout final yr’s Presidents Cup, incomes three half factors of their group’s success over the Worldwide aspect.

Nevertheless, they are going to be opponents on the Austin Nation Membership starting Wednesday after being drawn in Group four.

Charl Schwartzel and Li Haotong are additionally within the blockbuster group, with the winner to advance to the final sixteen.

World No. 1 and defending champion Johnson is in Group 1 alongside Kevin Kisner, Adam Hadwin and Bernd Wiesberger.

Coming off his win on the Arnold Palmer Invitational, 2015 champion Rory McIlroy was drawn alongside Brian Harman, Jhonattan Vegas and Peter Uihlein in Group 6.

Two-time champion Jason Day is alongside Louis Oosthuizen, the person he beat within the 2016 last, Jason Dufner and James Hahn in Group eight.

Full draw:
Group 1 – Dustin Johnson, Kevin Kisner, Adam Hadwin and Bernd Wiesberger.
Group 2 – Justin Thomas, Francesco Molinari, Patton Kizzire and Luke Listing.
Group three – Jon Rahm, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Chez Reavie and Keegan Bradley.
Group four – Jordan Spieth, Patrick Reed, Li Haotong and Charl Schwartzel.
Group 5 – Hideki Matsuyama, Patrick Cantlay, Cameron Smith and Yusaku Miyazato.
Group 6 – Rory McIlroy, Brian Harman, Jhonattan Vegas and Peter Uihlein.
Group 7 – Sergio Garcia, Xander Schauffele, Dylan Frittelli and Shubhankar Sharma.
Group eight – Jason Day, Louis Oosthuizen, Jason Dufner and James Hahn.
Group 9 – Tommy Fleetwood, Daniel Berger, Kevin Chappell and Ian Poulter.
Group 10 – Paul Casey, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Kyle Stanley and Russell Henley.
Group eleven – Marc Leishman, Branden Grace, Bubba Watson and Julian Suri.
Group 12 – Tyrrell Hatton, Charley Hoffman, Brendan Steele and Alex Levy.
Group thirteen – Alex Noren, Tony Finau, Thomas Pieters and Kevin Na.
Group 14 – Phil Mickelson, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Satoshi Kodaira and Charles Howell III.
Group 15 – Pat Perez, Gary Woodland, Webb Simpson and Kim Si-woo.
Group sixteen – Matt Kuchar, Ross Fisher, Yuta Ikeda and Zach Johnson.