NASCAR results at Martinsville: Clint Bowyer ends drought, wins STP 500

Clint Bowyer
Clint Bowyer (Getty Pictures)

Heavy snowfall at Martinsville Speedway pressured NASCAR to postpone the STP 500 till Monday, however the delay did not have an effect on Clint Bowyer.

Bowyer, who led a mixed 36 laps the final three seasons, took the lead away from Stage 2 winner Ryan Blaney on Lap 285 and led the ultimate 215 laps for his first win because the 2012 Financial institution of America 500 — one hundred ninety races in the past. 

The one warning flag of the afternoon at the half-mile Virginia monitor flew on Lap 384 when Austin Dillon received into the rear of Jamie McMurray, sending the No. 1 automotive into the wall. The pause within the race allowed Bowyer to fill his tank with gasoline after a mistake on pit street left him an estimated three gallons brief. 

Kyle Busch completed second, adopted by Blaney, pole-sitter Martin Truex Jr. and Kevin Harvick. 

Final time the collection was at the “Paperclip” Denny Hamlin wrecked Chase Elliott from the lead with simply three laps remaining. Elliott slammed Hamlin into the Flip three wall on the cool-down lap, and the 2 exchanged phrases after exiting their automobiles. This time round there was no retaliation from Elliott, who struggled to remain on the lead lap caught hearth late en path to a ninth-place end. 

After a pit cease with one hundred fifteen laps to go, Hamlin needed to make a second cease to repair injury inflicting his No. eleven automotive to overheat. The Stage 1 winner was capable of work his approach again into the highest 15 for a twelfth-place end. 

NASCAR Cup Collection results from the STP 500 at Martinsville

  1. Clint Bowyer
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Chase Elliott
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Erik Jones
  18. Daniel Suarez
  19. Ryan Newman
  20. William Byron
  21. Michael McDowell
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Chris Buescher
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. David Ragan
  26. Jamie McMurray
  27. Cole Whitt
  28. DJ Kennington
  29. Ross Chastain
  30. Austin Dillon
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. Trevor Bayne
  34. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  35. Harrison Rhodes
  36. Grey Gaulding
  37. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  38. Landon Cassill

Stage 1 winner: Hamlin

Stage 2 winner: Blaney