NASCAR starting lineup at Bristol: Kyle Busch wins pole, Kurt Busch starts second

Kyle Busch gained the pole for Sunday’s Meals Metropolis 500 at Bristol, and he beat a well-known opponent to do it — his older brother, Kurt Busch.

Kyle, the Monster Power NASCAR Cup collection factors chief, turned a lap of 14.895 seconds within the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, simply nipping Kurt’s time of 14.897 seconds.

BRISTOL ODDS: Fantasy recommendation, predictions, sleepers 

It is Kyle Busch’s twenty ninth profession pole, and his second of the season. It additionally marks the third time the Busch brothers have began 1-2 in a NASCAR Cup race. Kyle sat on the pole the 2 earlier occasions as nicely.

“He all the time informed everybody when you assume I am good, simply wait till you see my youthful brother,” Kyle Busch joked with FS1 afterward. “It is good to return out right here and seize a entrance-row starting spot.”

Kurt Busch knew precisely the place he misplaced the pole.

“I missed it just a little bit in Flip 1, received grasping and it washed up just a bit bit,” Kurt Busch advised FS1. “Two Busches on the entrance row, that is not too dangerous.”

Kevin Harvick, who leads the NASCAR Cup collection with three victories this season, crashed in apply earlier within the day and needed to go to a backup automotive. He didn’t flip a qualifying lap and can begin thirty ninth — the place he would have began no matter how he certified as a result of he’s driving a backup automotive.

Brad Keselowski certified third, adopted by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Ryan Blaney.

The Meals Metropolis 500 begins Sunday at 2 p.m. on Fox.

Starting lineup for the Meals Metropolis 500

1. Kyle Busch
2. Kurt Busch
three. Brad Keselowski
four. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
5. Ryan Blaney
6. Kyle Larson
7. Paul Menard
eight. Alex Bowman
9. Michael McDowell
10. Joey Logano
eleven. William Byron
12. Daniel Suarez
thirteen. Erik Jones
14. Clint Bowyer
15. Kasey Kahne
sixteen. Chase Elliott
17. Jimmie Johnson
18. AJ Allmendinger
19. Aric Almirola
20. Darrell Wallace Jr.
21. Austin Dillon
22. Chris Buescher
23. David Ragan
24. Matt DiBenedetto
25. Denny Hamlin
26. Martin Truex Jr.
27. Ross Chastain
28. Grey Gaulding
29. Landon Cassill
30. Ryan Newman
31. Jamie McMurray
32. Ty Dillon
33. Trevor Bayne
34. Corey LaJoie
35. DJ Kennington
36. Reed Sorenson
37. Harrison Rhodes
38. Chad Finchum
39. Kevin Harvick