U.S. Open 2018: Serena Williams receives game penalty in championship match against Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams - cropped
Serena Williams remonstrates with umpire Carlos Ramos (Getty Images)

Serena Williams was docked a game in the second set of her U.S. Open championship match against Naomi Osaka on Saturday.

Williams received a violation from the chair umpire after her coach was allegedly giving her hand signals.

Williams was docked a point after she picked up another violation for smashing her racket. She told the umpire he owed her an apology.

“I have a daughter and I stand for what’s right for her,” Williams told the umpire on the court. “I have never cheated.”

Williams continued to argue with the umpire and was charged a third violation, which led to the loss of the game.

U.S. Open officials then came onto the court and discussed the issue with Williams.

Osaka came away with a 6-2, 6-4 win to take home her first grand slam.